Delete your Google+ profile

Google+ is what happens when you try to take on an incumbent, don’t communicate your vision, and then leave the rotting carcass to fester and be eaten by the maggots. In this case the maggots were a

security vulnerability that exposed the private data of up to 500,000 users

It turns out Google knew about the vulnerability back in March 2018, but decided not to disclose it as, as far they know, it hadn’t been exploited. If your data was upto date and complete, there was enough there to perform a rudimentary phishing attack.

In my case, my phone number, location and a number of other items were out of date, so I didn’t wait to find out what Google were going to do, I just went ahead and deleted my Google+ account. Google has also announced they will kill Google+ although it’s not clear completely what will be removed.

In the post Google+ world, it’s been clear for a while that Google is moving much of the community and information sourcing features into Google Maps.

Here is a link if you want to go ahead and delete your Google+ profile instead of waiting for Google to clean up the mess.

Source: Delete your Google+ profile – Google+ Help

Author: Mark Cathcart

Formerly an Executive Director of Systems Engineering and a Senior Distinguished Engineer at Dell. Prior to that, an IBM Distinguished Engineer working for the Systems Group in NY and Austin. I'm currently "retired until further notice".